Does Calorie Count help toward healthier choices?

My answer to this question is “at first no.” It took many years for us to reach this level of obesity and the propensity for bigger and unhealthy choices.

I remember when I was a teenager the peach tart that I used to buy after school was barely sweet but today I end up putting the same tart aside because it is overly sweet to me. We have slowly been led toward the higher sugar, higher salt and higher fat content without even realizing when it took root. We have seen soda fountains increase their cup sizes from 8 oz all the way to 42 oz in some places. We have made room in our fridge and pantry for bigger boxes and bigger cans of everything, from cereals to pasta meals without questioning where our health was heading.

At the restaurants and fast food places we display the same behavior we have at home which is to eat to our heart’s content. And when we arrive at the buffet restaurants, it is a frenzy to fill ourselves to maximum capacity, leaving no empty pocket for easy breathing.

So that is why some of us are denying the efficacy of calorie count. Indeed we need to work on ourselves first before we can even think of doing it outside. Yes, it is like allowing kids to run wild at home and then expect them to behave in public. But, we still can benefit by having outside help.

Calorie count is a start and it will take time to work. Calorie count even to those of us who do not care, is there as a reminder when a slight doubt comes into our mind or when we are already sick and we know we need to limit our calorie intake. It is going to take a long time for us to reach a middle ground just like what it took us when we headed on the road to obesity. It was fun and it still is but we are paying a high price today for such excess.

I welcome calorie count because it shows that there is a problem at hand and that we are starting to define it and focus on a future outcome. We need to contemplate how society will look and feel 50 years from now when portion controls have been exercised. We also need to imagine the impact we will have on our children’s life and on future generations by eating healthy. This change is not only for our own well-being but it is also for the future well-being of mankind.

Calorie count starts with one person at a time!

8 thoughts on “Does Calorie Count help toward healthier choices?

  1. Great weblog here! Additionally your web site loads up very fast!
    What web host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink to your host?
    I desire my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  2. Howdy I am so excited I found your web site. I would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and an all around exciting blog. I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds. Please do keep up the superb job.

  3. Hey! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and amazing style and design.

Please leave a reply

