Olive Oil with Fruits

Do you happen to have a low tolerance for “sour” fruits? For years now, I myself have been unable to tolerate fruits such as cherries, oranges, grapefruits and berries because of their high citric acid content. Though I have substituted them with other fruits like watermelon, papaya and mangoes, every once in a while I wish I could eat them without ill-effect. It so happened that I read an article last week which stated that certain foods need to be eaten with some other foods in order to provide us all their nutrients. In the article, they mentioned that olive oil added to a salad makes the salad more nutritious.

So I asked myself if I were to add olive oil to a fruit if it would make it tolerable. This past Friday at 3 pm I tested the new theory by drinking one tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil and following it with a nectarine and a handful of cherries. Wow, I truly savored them. The first hour, I waited for the acid reflux, heartburn and indigestion. I had none of these symptoms. I watched the clock while doing other chores and for the next 3 hours I felt just fine.

Saturday at 5 pm, I experimented again. I drank one tablespoon of olive oil and then ate one large peach, one apple and a handful of cherries. The whole night went by and I felt great.

Sunday afternoon, I attempted the same technique by drinking olive oil and two small glasses of non-alcoholic red wine. Well, I waited and waited and then I ate two other meals. I had absolutely no ill-effects.

I will continue doing the mixing from now on in that manner whenever I want to eat a particular fruit. If I get any adverse reaction, I will certainly write about it.

May we continue to enjoy all the fruits that we love and still feel great in the process!!!

4 thoughts on “Olive Oil with Fruits

  1. I also cannot tolerate sour fruits. Actually, there are very few fruits I can tolerate. But I want to start eating healthier; and I know that means more fruits and vegetables. So, I am going to try this tip and see how it works. Thank you for the tip.

  2. I am going to try this new technique. I have been having so much trouble with sour fruits. I can’t wait to see if it works for me. Many thanks!

Please leave a reply

