Simply Avocado

Grant Cochrane/freedigitalphotos.net

For as long as I can remember I have always loved avocados.  When I was growing up, it seems like everyone had a tree in their backyard. I remember their tree bore big, small, oval, or elongated ones. No matter the size or the shape, I used to eat them all.

But now I love them even more knowing all the health benefits they share with us. Every summer, my mom worries about me because I eat lots of it every day. My sister has a tree that bears the big, thick, dry and tasty ones. They are so good that I am actually salivating just thinking about them.

The avocado as a fruit is loaded with nutrients. We often hear people say to watch out for cholesterol but in fact it has the opposite effect. I do believe that if we eat lots of red meats and fatty foods and we add avocado to it, we will definitely suffer some ill-effects. I can attest that I as a vegetarian eat lots of avocado and my cholesterol, HDL and LDL levels are just fine.

Now that we have left  the cholesterol concern behind, let us look at the benefits of the avocado. According to research, the avocado is a unique fruit because it:

  • Has anti-inflammatory benefits
  • Promotes heart and blood vessels health
  • Regulates blood sugar
  • Has anti-cancer benefits

Avocados also provide us vitamin B5, B6, C, E, K, folate, potassium, fiber, omega-3 fatty acids, carotenoids, flavonoids, phytosterols, manganese, selenium, and zinc.

All I do with my avocado is add thin slices of it onto two slices of bread. I sprinkle some salt, olive oil and black pepper on it. I cut the sandwich into four pieces so I can eat it without making a mess. Et voilà!

2 thoughts on “Simply Avocado

  1. wonderful issues altogether, you simply gained a logo new
    reader. What would you suggest in regards to your post
    that you just made a few days ago? Any certain?

Please leave a reply

