Preventive vs Curative

stockimages/freedigitalphotos.net

stockimages/freedigitalphotos.net

I was contacted last week by a representative of drugwatch.com regarding adding them as a link on my site. I took a look at the information they share with the public and found it very interesting. I added their site under Links as Dangerous Prescription Drugs and Medical Devices. Feel free to look them up.

As you already know, I am a big proponent of preventive rather than curative medicine which means I spend more time trying to keep healthy rather than taking medications and having procedures done in order to regain health.

Like everybody else I had my days of taking over-the-counter and prescribed medications to cure my many ills. Over the years, I have absorbed Tylenol, Aspirin, Iron supplements, vitamins, Mylanta, Tums, Tagamet, Maalox, Tinactin, Digoxin, Nitroglycerin, antibiotics, cough syrups, cough drops, pepto-bismol, Rolaids, Prilosec, Zantac and Benadryl.

Nowadays I repeat frequently to myself that my body is a temple and I shall not desecrate it. So instead of thinking of medications and medical devices which to me are a cure, I rather work on prevention.

Not everyone can do the same and I certainly am not advocating that anyone quit taking their medications or not follow their physician’s advice. I am not writing for that purpose but what I want to emphasize is that we should claim or reclaim our health by learning what makes our body tick. No physician, nurse or medical practitioner can do it for us. 

Everything is a growing process. In 2007 when I wrote my dissertation entitled Preventive Medicine – The Essence of Life, I was not as knowledgeable about my body as I am today. I learn something about it everyday, new likes and new dislikes. I listen to it, I communicate with it and I merge with it.

Health is a journey well worth enjoying. A few people feel that those who follow a healthy lifestyle  want to be different. I beg to differ.  I simply do not want to live to a ripe age of 90 limping, coughing, bedridden, broken down, taking a zillion meds  and having multiple medical devices in me.

I rather propose to myself a life of being able to dance, hike, walk, love, make love, travel, listen to music, read, ponder, talk without medical or mental restrictions. And the day, that my body or my mind cannot keep up with that process, I want to depart simply during my sleep like several close family members have done. My mom today is a few days short of 88 and still walks, dances, travels, reads and so on without major complaints.

We each have a different goal in life and that is what serves us the most. Since optimum health is a personal journey and one that is relative only to us, here are 7 suggestions that may be helpful:

  1. First and foremost let us take time to learn about our body: the foods, drinks, fumes, pollution, chemicals, medications and situations that it can or cannot tolerate.
  2. Eliminate or decrease the above culprits.
  3. Substitute  sugar and sugary items such as pastries, candies and cookies with fruits.
  4. Flee from cigarette smoke.
  5. Discover the joy of a fun activity.
  6. Meditate! Commune with the Self and focus on its power.
  7. Adopt love as a logo. Attract love.

Ultimately, our body is our shield so let us harness its power and thereby travel the universe free of entanglements!

Medical Disclaimer

You must not rely on the information on this website as an alternative to medical advice from your doctor or other professional healthcare provider. If you have any specific questions about any medical matter you should consult your doctor or other professional healthcare provider. If you think you may be suffering from any medical condition you should seek immediate medical attention. You should never delay seeking medical advice, disregard medical advice, or discontinue medical treatment because of information on this website.

3 thoughts on “Preventive vs Curative

  1. My body is not in the best of health but I do without many medicines … there’s one for my diabetes, a vitamin cap and one for calcium. What I’d like to share is one, amongst a few mother ill behaviours that are pretty widespread and disease multipliers, which I have prevented for ages with very simple rules : constipation.

    It’s through remembering the following seat behaviour :
    – sit as if you have the whole day for the job;
    don’t worry, it’s never taken more than 10 odd minutes !
    – don’t get immediately engaged with pushing, pressing and puffing down below; trust your body to do the job, remembering you’re in there because of signs that it would.
    – just sit, spine straight or just a little bent over as it suits but shoulders dropped and at ease and relaxed, even the head dropped with chin close to the chest. There is no other thought or concern… the sky could tumble for all you care !
    – just breathe in fully, letting the stomach puff out as it would, and breathe out as it comes taking in the stomach as it would.
    THAT’s YOUR ONLY JOB WHILE YOU ARE IN THERE.
    – let the body do it all, aiding it now and then ever so slightly.
    – and don’t leave the place prematurely, just because you “feel” it’s done.
    Most of the time it’s just the trailer or an intermission …

    Happy relieving !

Please leave a reply

