Sleep Paralysis

The Nightmare/Henry Fuseli

The Nightmare/Henry Fuseli

Over the years, I have collected a lot of stories from patients, clients, co-workers, friends, family members and my own self. A great many of them, my body has tested to see their validity. I pass on these stories just in case they may help someone in need.

And so we arrive today at the illness called sleep paralysis. I know several people who have suffered from it. This illness is not known by its medical name by many, but it sure is known by its symptoms. Around the world, sleep paralysis is mentioned via names such as: Old hag, Ogun Oru, The witch is riding you, The Devil on your back, Ephialtes, Karabasan, Phǐǐ am, Bangungut, Pasikdhar, Bakhtak, Dukak, Jinamizi, Unihalvaus, Mara, Goblin, Succubus, Mora, Vrahnas, or Varypnas among many others.

So, what is sleep paralysis? This is what Wikipedia has to say about it:

Sleep paralysis is a phenomenon in which people, either when falling asleep or wakening, temporarily experience an inability to move. More formally, it is a transition state between wakefulness and rest characterized by complete muscle atonia (muscle weakness). It can occur at sleep onset or upon awakening, and it is often associated with terrifying visions (e.g. an intruder in the room), to which one is unable to react due to paralysis. It is believed a result of disrupted REM sleep, which is normally characterized by complete muscle atonia that prevents individuals from acting out their dreams. Sleep paralysis has been linked to disorders such as narcolepsy, migraines, anxiety disorders, and obstructive sleep apnea; however, it can also occur in isolation.[1][2] When linked to another disorder, sleep paralysis commonly occurs in association with the neuromuscular disorder narcolepsy.”

The symptoms that I have heard people report are that while sleeping, a sudden whoosh is heard and this entity lands on their chest, back or by the side of their bed. At that point, they become completely paralyzed. They know that they are awake when they experience this fright. Panic attack sets in, their eyes bulge out and they cannot move a finger. It may last a minute or less but it is a minute too many. Most of them fear going to bed for the next few nights until their dread diminishes.

Cynthia, a nurse, told us one day at work that she had been having sleep paralysis for many years. She did not know it was an illness until she began searching her symptoms online. She thought they were nightmares and therefore never discussed them with anyone. Several other nurses attested they had no idea of this illness either. Cynthia stated she found a website with a protection prayer which she read. She felt the prayer was right for her so she copied it. She said it twice a day as recommended.

Cynthia then said that during her last episode of sleep paralysis, when she heard the whoosh that woke her up, she forced her mind to move her fingers and then she stood up. She looked straight at the shadow of a tall man with black clothing standing at the head of her bed, fought with it and won the fight. The shadow evaporated right in front of her eyes. She felt victorious, went back to bed and then said the protection prayer again. In her heart she knew that the whole event was very live but again she wonders if it could have happened in her sleep, like the books say.

Cynthia continued saying the prayer for  several more weeks and then let it go. She has not had any sleep paralysis for more than 6 years now. She talks around about it just in case her knowledge might be of help to other people. Two friends of hers were cured of it, according to her.

As we all know, we each have our own coping mechanisms and we are not the same in mind, body and spirit. We have to remember that some remedies work for some and don’t work for others. I am not tooting or recommending this prayer as the cure. I only am suggesting it as a last measure when one has seen their physician and attempted all other treatments.

From the following website: http://www.soul-guidance.com/houseofthesun/protectionprayer.htm, this is what Cynthia found:

“The following protection prayer is based on the book Remarkable Healings, A Psychiatrist Discovers Unsuspected Roots of Mental and Physical Illness, by Shakuntala Modi, M.D., Hampton Roads Publishing Company, ISBN 1-57174-079-1. Her findings are remarkably similar to the traditional shamans’ point of view that man’s spiritual and physical health is often influenced by negative entities and energies, and that the Divine and the light beings are always there to help us.

The protection prayer is to be done twice a day, once when you go to bed in the evening and once when you wake up in the morning.

I ask the Divine within myself

to remove all the earthbound, demon and other entities,

the dark shields, dark energies, dark devices and dark connections

from my body, aura, soul, and cord,

and also from my home, my workplace, my car, my places of recreation,

and everything in them and miles and miles around them.

I ask the Divine within myself

to locate and bring back my lost soul parts

and cleanse, heal and integrate them with the main body of my soul.

I ask the Divine within myself

to fill me and shield me with brilliant Divine Light,

and to plug all the holes and tunnels in me and my surroundings and my car.

I visualize a column of dazzling, shimmering, vibrant Divine Light

coming from above my head

filling my whole body,

cleansing and healing every part, every cell, and every organ of my body.

I visualize this Divine Light

spreading an arm’s length all around me

in every direction

creating a cocoon of Divine Light all around me.

I visualize this cocoon of Divine Light

being covered with reflective spiritual mirrors,

with the reflective mirror surface facing outwards.

I visualize this reflective cocoon

spreading Divine Light all around.

I visualize my home, workplace, car and places of recreation

being cleansed, filled and shielded by brilliant, white, liquid Light.

I ask the Divine within myself

to stay on guard around me and my surroundings

as long as my soul exists.

I pray for protection

of my family members, friends, co-workers and all the people I know

and their surroundings.

I ask the Divine within myself

to cleanse, heal, balance

all my energy centers

when needed

and cover up and protect them when not needed.

I ask the Divine Light within myself

to cleanse, heal, shield and protect

all my channels of communication with the Divine Light.

I hope that this post reaches all persons who suffer from sleep paralysis and may faith, purpose and determination through this protection prayer help them conquer their nights at will! Love and Peace to all!

2 thoughts on “Sleep Paralysis

Please leave a reply

